Firebird and Prince

  My daughter wanted to be the Firebird for Halloween.  She said this first immediately after Halloween last year, when she was 4 1/2 years old.  She had a lot of different opinions over the course of the next year, but ended up coming back to the Firebird, with only a little prodding from me.  I thought making a firebird costume would be the coolest thing ever.  I was pretty nearly right.  For anyone reading this who doesn’t know what the Firebird is, here’s a link to one version of the Russian folktale.  Given that my son is young enough that you can get him enthusiastic about anything at all, just by asking in the right tone of voice, he wanted to be the Prince.  I started work on the firebird nearly right after I finished the Italian Ren outfits, and I needed that time.

The Prince is pretty simple.  Very wide gold pants (though I should’ve made them wider), and a fuzzy red jacket with gold frogs.  The hat is just an adult-size winter hat my mom made long ago, but it went so nicely that it became a costume piece.  I thought I was going to make him fake boots to go over his sneakers, but I ran out of time.  So I took some wide double-sided Velcro, and wrapped it around to hold the pant-ankles in place.  At least 1/4 of my costuming is the ability to improvise.

They both adored their costumes, though I didn’t quite get him willing to say ‘thank you’ in Russian when trick or treating.  However, apparently no one knows this folk tale.  In fact, apparently people don’t even hear the word ‘prince’, at least not when they’re looking at a 2 year old with long hair.  My daughter told everyone that ‘he’ or ‘my brother’ was ‘the prince’, and at least a third of them looked confused for a moment and then said ‘What a pretty princess!’  One couple on the entire trick or treating route recognized the story and were excited about the costumes.  Fortunately I have friends and family to appreciate it. 😉

  Here’s the Firebird at an angle so you can see her beak.  The beak is the same sparkly tulle as the ‘feathers’, with a very thin wire around the edge to hold it in up.  It probably would have been smart to use a thicker wire, so I didn’t have to keep straightening it, but this way it was nearly invisible.  I love tulle, when it’s appropriate, because it doesn’t need to be hemmed, but this is the first time I’ve run wire through the little holes.  Too bad it’s almost never appropriate in the things I’m doing. 🙂

I won’t be doing any sort of tutorial here unless someone asks.  So if you want to know, ask.

~ by hearthwife on January 3, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
