External monologue

This is an experiment.  I’m going to try writing about the things I make and do, and possibly anything else which occurs to me.  Perhaps someone will read it, perhaps it will be a personal log.  We’ll see.

Either way, it will mostly have to do with creation, which is very important to me.  And almost everything I do is tied up with my children in one way or another, even if it’s only because they keep me from getting anything done.  So that may come into it some.  We’ll see.

~ by hearthwife on September 21, 2010.

4 Responses to “External monologue”

  1. I am reading so far … what are you making this week?

    • Sadly, I started to write about a costume I made for my daughter, lost the whole long post when my computer rebooted, and never managed to come back.

      But!

      This week I am trying to provide dressy Renaissance Italian garb for my whole family, to be done before Friday evening. I should take pictures! And post them!

      Thank you for reminding me that I want to do this!

  2. How many garments in how many days? Do your kids go to school, leaving you home alone (with the crockpot making supper) so you can sew all day? Good luck!! I will love to see pictures. When I did that kind of thing, it was simpler, earlier, and provincial, not court garb.
    Roza’s Mama

    • Well, I sort of already had one for me. It’s not great, but it’ll do. And I haven’t started the two for the kids’ yet, but in both cases I’m just making a simple over-garment to go over things they already have. My husband is the real problem, because I’m trying to finish something I cut years ago, and it is not a project to be done in a hurry.
      I am home with the kids, but at least one kid is always around. Fortunately, they’re independent sorts, and also love sewing (or the idea of it, neither actually knows how yet). So I can work in between crises.
      I don’t normally do court garb, and only my husband’s will really count as court garb, but… well, it’s complicated. There’s a friend of my mom’s who used to be a SCAdian and want to start again, and she convinced my mom (who isn’t a SCAdian) to go to Coronation, so now we’re all going. And we’re far too middle-class for Coronation. 🙂
      I have sewing time today, I’ll bring the camera upstairs too.

Leave a Reply

 
